YouTube Phonies: David Jacobson

Background Information

Jacobson claims this “activity” started years ago after him and his friends played with an Oujia board.

He boasts a wide array of videos, mostly about the paranormal happenings in his apartments. He also has some UFO sighting videos as well.

Jacobson is adamant his videos are real. He does respond to questions on his YouTube videos. His followers are also believers and would be sure to tell you that you’re wrong if you so much as post an intelligent question.

Let’s get right to it!


 Exhibit A: The “About” Page and Individual Video Tags

dave_jocobson_youtube_about
Taken from Dave Jacobson’s “About” Page on YouTube from August of 2014 (still same today)

This might seem run-of-the-mill, but here’s a small list of what should stand out when looking for videos that claim to be “real”.

The multiple tags or keywords

For argument’s sake, let’s assume you think you actually caught something paranormal on camera. You want to show everyone, right? You start putting multiple tags in your video, “sharing” on multiple websites to (hopefully) put the rest the “the paranormal is real” argument.

The tags are normal, right?

Here’s the issue I have with that: not only are the multiple tags on his about page, but they are also on his individual videos.

From his video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjbaLnQ2MBY. Click "Show More" and this ENTIRE list pops up
From his video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjbaLnQ2MBY. Click “Show More” and this ENTIRE list pops up

One set of multiple tags on the “About” page is enough, right? Those pretty much ensure you are going to be noticed.

Well, in Jacobson’s case, I guess not.

If you genuinely are seeking to find out what is going on in your house/apartment/etc, you don’t have the multiple tag setup of looking like you’re trying to sell something.

This is typical attention-seeking on YouTube behavior. Whether or not Mr. Jacobson is doing this for a hobby or for monetary reasons, I don’t yet know.

YouTube does have a setup where you get (a little) amount of money for ads placed on our videos. They have to be original content (which his is). These videos are monetized, as when you click on them, an ad does appear.

Of course, I’m sure his followers would say something along the lines of: “But he just wants people to look at his videos! Aren’t you being too harsh on him?”

Exhibit B: Actual Videos Names

It’s one thing to post a video, but it’s another to post several (again, with multiple keywords and tags) on one YouTube account that boasts such prolific, “100% REAL”, content. If that in itself isn’t a red flag for “authenticity”, I don’t know what else is.

Names of Videos (With Links)

Note: Another telltale sign of a paranormal phony? The “PLEASE SUBSCRIBE” pop-ups on some videos.

SCARY VIDEOS Real Ghost Caught On Tape Attacking Man

Scary Ghost Caught On Tape REAL VIOLENT PARANORMAL ACTIVITY

REAL PARANORMAL ACTIVITY Real Ghost Footage Compilation

just to name a few. Look at the rest of the names.

Do you start seeing a pattern?

Again, this is a major red flag.

Exhibit C: Video Content

If you watched a video or two, you start noticing how everything seems to happen “off camera” (sounds) or how objects tend to be moving.

A few items of note while watching “Top 6 Sightings Caught On Tape In My House“:

1. at 0:41 to 0:48, the picture frame moves. However, look at the surroundings around the frame itself.  You notice how the video in itself appears to “pulsate”? Although it appears the video is playing as it should, this is an indication that the film itself is being slowed down. In fact, the pixels around the frame seem to change in an odd manner.

Also, there is a very dramatic sound when the picture frame appears to move. Given how the picture frame moves, it wouldn’t make such a profound sound.

It’s also EXTREMELY important to note that the picture frame “dragging” is the only sound. The next clip has the proverbial “white noise” (or general silence “sound”) when a camera is left on and recording. Hmm.

2. 1:14-1:16, the love seat moves. Dramatically. If this does not scream “fake”, I don’t know what can. This can be very easily accomplished by having someone push the loveseat off camera or with some type of prod (Note: showing the area before sitting the camera down does not constitute “paranormal” activity; just very cheap tricks).

1:23-1:24: The light goes off. You can hear the light switch being flipped. The next few times it goes off, you cannot hear the sound. This can also be accomplished by switching the light and/or block the source of light.

I’m also aware of the “knocks”, but do we really need to point out how obvious that is to fake?

Bonus 2:07-2:19ish: The lights seem to come back on, and the table is now being “pushed” (pulled, actually) from near the fireplace to the upper/middle part of the video, where it falls. This is a VERY old trick. The fact that the lights had to be off and then the table move is also very telling of how the trick was set up. My suspicion is simple fish wire.

3. 2:48-2:50: That, ladies and gentleman, is a speck of dust. It’s not at “orb”. In fact, this might even be a faked orb.

I realize I can go on and on about the videos. It’s getting pretty repetitive. Of course, I know I might have some “fans” coming to bash this, so when that does happen, I’ll be happy to break down the fake video in its entirety (or even his other videos).

Conclusions

It’s one thing to put these videos out there as entertainment; certainly, I think Mr. Jacobson could make a great director. I know I might be the only one, but I do enjoy found footage horror movies.

However, the reason for the blog post is the lack of credibility the paranormal field has. There are way too many “fakes” and “phonies” who use this interesting subject field as a means for popularity. This needs to be taken seriously.

I can tell from the multiple “dislikes” on the videos that I’m not the only one who agrees with my findings and suspicions.

I guess, perhaps, as a final “exhibit”, I should mention another sign of fake paranormal videos is the usage of their full name. Whether or not Jacobson is his real last night and not a stage name is unclear.


Note: I suppose one can argue that using this blog and my few YouTube videos could be a way to “make money”, but I have no desire to create a massive “following” for profit or otherwise; I just want the truth out there. I do not want to be an entertainer or go on “paranormal” shows. I want to learn and teach; not throw my real name around.

By the way, in the field of work I’m in, using my real name and trying to maintain that “professional” stature would be absolutely damning.

4 comments

  1. I actually like your breakdown! I’m just surprised you didn’t address that a lot of his videos appear to be duplicates (that is to say, two subsequent videos with slightly different cuts highlighting different things).

    May I make a recommendation? I’d like to see you do a similar breakdown with a German channel called LosScreamos (yeah, I know) that’s been around for awhile and keeps popping up. Their stuff seems plausible enough but it reeks of either inauthenticity, or tactlessness (too-fitting name, highlights in the thumbnails, a “fan trailer” apparently, etc.).

    But I understand if doing these by request is just not something you want to do. Plus I may have just made the analysis for myself without realizing it…

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s really nice of you, thanks! I’ll look into LosScreamos. It makes me happy knowing there are other people with common sense out there (thanks spam for hindering this message).

      Like

Leave a Reply

